New CD King Jammy x Roots, Reality and Sleng Teng

On July 24, 2015 VP Records vintage imprint 17 North Parade will release a brand new 2CD/DVD reggae anthology from King Jammy, one of Jamaica’s most influential producers of all time. Entitled Roots, Reality And Sleng Teng, the comprehensive collection chronicles Lloyd “King Jammy” James’ productions throughout the various styles and eras of reggae. From his live analogue recordings to the birth of the digital reggae to modern day reggae/dancehall, Jammy has played a pivotal role in every step along the way. This timeless 2-disc set shows his range and diversity as a producer over almost a 40-year span. The double-disc deluxe package features extensive liner notes written by reggae historian John Masouri as well as a bonus DVD documentary King At The Controls (originally released in 2006).


The album kicks off with some of King Jammy’s earlier analogue productions in the late 1970s (when he started working as an engineer with the legendary Jamaican producer King Tubby) and into the 1980s. It includes the 1976 cut “Zambia,” which was Jammy’s debut single on his own label, The Fantels’ “Where You Gonna Run” (indicative of the late rockers era), the hard hitting roots anthem “African Love/Yogi Bear” by Black Uhuru & Prince Hammer, the dancehall rarity “Selassie On His White Horse” by John Steele, Erroll Scorchers’ “Engineer Affair” (a cut of Gregory Isaacs’ Storm from 1977), “Jah Created The World” by one of Jamaica’s best females singers Hortense Ellis (also Alton Ellis’ sister), the 1983 dancehall staple Johnny Osbourne’s “Water Pumping,” the feel good rub-a-dub track “Skank At The Party” by Mighty Rudo and “Boom Shack A Lack”  from a teenage Junior Reid as local Waterhouse youth.

The compilation then delves into the digital reggae era when Jammy changed the genre landscape forever. It features his 1985 groundbreaking hit “Under Me Sleng Teng” by Wayne Smith, which ultimately spawned the modern dancehall era with its innovative electronic production style shifting away from live instrumental rhythms. With Jammy working his magic at the boards and Wayne Smith eking the tune out on a cheap Casio battery-powered keyboard, the simple hypnotic track came to life. It spread like wildfire and there were at least two hundred versions of the song made only months after. In the 1980s and 1990s, Jammy became one of the most influential producers of dancehall music, producing hit after hit and dominating the reggae scene. Steely and Clevie gravitated to Jammy, bringing a new level of musicianship to the game and Bobby “Digital” Dixon took over mixing duties. In the 1990s and into 2000s, Jammy also nurtured a next crop of talented youngsters in both dancehall and roots including Shabba Ranks, Bounty Killer, Garnett Silk and Sizzla – all featured on this comprehensive set.

Produced by Olivier Chastan and Johnny Wonder, the bonus DVD documentary is set in King Jammy’s own Waterhouse community of Kingston, JA and gives a glimpse of where it all started and the man behind the boards.  It pays respect to the legacy and the depth of Jammy’s commitment to reggae music.

Jammy’s indelible stamp on reggae music is a tasty and importance slice of Jamaican musical history. The tracks on Roots, Reality And Sleng Teng offer a solid sense of the icon’s innovative sound and production during multiple eras and showcases the young, unique talents who Jammy nurtured. It is authentic, authoritative and indispensable.


U.S.Tour Dates:

Sun July 19 in New York (Queens), NY @ Grace Jamaican Jerk Festival

Wed July 29 in Los Angeles, CA @ Dub Club

Thur July 30 in Humboldt, CA @ Reggae On The River



1.     Bad Girl – Black Uhuru, Scorcher & Nicodemus

2.     African Love/ Yogi Bear – Black Uhuru & Prince Hammer

3.     Selassie On His White Horse – John Steele

4.     Engineer Affair – Errol Scorcher

5.     Zambia – Jammy’s & Tubby

6.     Where You Gonna Run – The Fantels

7.     Jah Created The World – Hortense Ellis

8.     Love Tickles Like Magic – Junior Delgado

9.     The Lord Is My shepherd – Dennis Brown

10.  Skank At The Party – Mighty Rudo

11.  Water Pumping – Johnny Osbourne

12.  Boom Shack-A-Lack – Junior Reid

13.  Sweet Dreams Are Made of This – Echo Minott

14.  Money Man Skank – Half Pint

15.  Children of The Ghetto – Cocoa Tea

16.  Clarks Booty – Little John

17.  Under Me Sleng Teng – Wayne Smith

18.  It A Ring – Tonto Irie

19.  Trouble Again – King Kong

20.  Sweet Reggae Music – Nitty Gritty


1.     Wear Yuh Size – Lt. Stitchie

2.     Original Kuff – Chaka Demus

3.     Rock Them One By One – Eccleton Jarrett

4.     Nah Lef Ya – Josey Wales

5.     Run Around Girl – Chuck Turner

6.     I Know The Score – Frankie Paul

7.     This Magic Moment – Leroy Gibbons

8.     Punanny – Admiral Bailey

9.     Duck Dance – Red Dragon

10.  Get Up Stand Up And Rock – Shabba Ranks

11.  Tumbling Down – Alton Ellis

12.  If I Were A Carpenter – John Holt

13.  Running From Reality – Admiral Tibet

14.  Who She Love – Cocoa Tea, Home T & Shabba Ranks

15.  Here I Am – Sanchez

16.  Bandelero – Pinchers

17.  Roots, Reality And Culture – Bounty Killer

18.  Lord Watch Over Our Shoulders – Garnett Silk

19.  Fir Bun A Weak Heart – Bushman

20.  One Love – Sizzla

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.